OER Hangout: Creating inclusive open resources for language learning

When: 
Wednesday, February 19, 2020 -
16:00 to 17:00
CST
Location: 
Online in Zoom
Presenter(s): 
Carlos Pio (University of Pennsylvania)
Eduardo Viana da Silva (University of Washington)

4pm CST (2pm PST / 3pm MST / 5pm EST)

 

Language students and instructors, and speakers of any given language, come from all different backgrounds and identify with a variety of races, ethnicities, cultures, abilities, genders, sexual orientations, ages, religions, languages, body types, and socio-economic statuses. However, this wide-ranging human experience isn’t always represented in traditional language-learning materials. If it is, it's often as a sidebar and not an integral part of the materials.

 

In this discussion-based webinar, Eduardo Viana da Silva and Carlos Pio will share examples from an inclusionary e-textbook they are developing for language classes with the collaboration and feedback from Portuguese speakers of several economic and cultural backgrounds. By focusing on listening to the language of a given community and committing to reproduce it, minority groups are not portrayed as ‘curiosities’, but as an integral part of the cultures being represented, and the range of language registers, from formal to informal, reflects that.

 

There will be 20 minutes of presentation time, and the rest of the hour will be dedicated to your questions and to conversation between participants and panelists.

 

Sponsored by: