OER Hangout: Joining a teaching community

When: 
Wednesday, November 13, 2019 -
16:00 to 17:00
CST
Presenter(s): 
Una Daly, Director of Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources (CCCOER)
Oscar Joya, Moderator of COERLL's Heritage Spanish Community
Meredith White, #langchat Moderator

4pm CST (2pm PST / 3pm MST / 5pm EST)

In this discussion-based webinar, you will have the chance to talk with three educators who manage or are involved with teacher professional learning communities.

There will be 20 minutes of presentation time where you will hear about how their communities started and evolved, how people communicate and collaborate within the community, and how you can get involved in these communities or start your own. 

The rest of the hour is for you to ask questions, talk to presenters, and share information about your own communities.

 

About the presenters and their communities:

 

Una Daly is Director of the Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources (CCCOER). CCCOER, a Community of Practice for Open Education, is a growing consortium of community and technical colleges committed to expanding access to education and increasing student equity and success through adoption of open educational policy, practices, and resources. We provide a community and resources to learn about the evolving practice of open education.

Oscar Joya is the moderator for COERLL's Heritage Spanish community, a Spanish teacher (heritage, L2, and AP) at Mesquite ISD, and a Master's student at Texas A&M University. The Heritage Spanish community gathers and shares general information, resources, and guidance to teachers of Spanish for Heritage Speakers who are looking for OER materials to incorporate to their curriculums in secondary and post secondary education. Our main goal is to create a network of collaborators and supporters of Spanish for Heritage Speakers to better serve this growing population in Texas and the US.

Meredith White is a secondary Spanish teacher, university methods instructor, and Ph.D. student just outside of Atlanta, GA. She is also one of the moderators of #langchat, an online-based Twitter community that meets twice a month on Twitter to respond to discuss specific topics, share resources, and ask questions. Going strong for ten years, our PLN reaches thousands of language teachers at all levels around the world.

OER Hangout 2019 November

COERLL OER Hangout November 2019: Joining a teaching community

Sponsored by: